Behind a panel in a storeroom at Loughborough Masonic Hall, a hoard of Masonic artefacts were discovered. Frederick Fleemans’ handwritten lectures by were discovered in the hoard. Fleeman had been Master of Howe and Charnwood Lodge, No.1007, in 1916. Also founder and Primus Master of Beacon Lodge, No.5208, in 1930 and Master of The Lodge of Research, in 1940.
The earliest paper was written in 1911 and delivered to the Howe and Charnwood Lodge of Instruction in February 1911. The last was his Inaugural Address to the Lodge of Research just three months before his death.
The majority of these papers have never been printed. Indeed the 1939 History of Howe and Charnwood Lodge was only known to have existed from the Lodge Minute Book. His paper on the Rancliffe Lodge, No.608, was dedicated to the development of the chapter in his 1919. Because they were lost, this book on Freemasonry in Loughborough, was not known to exist.
The Lodge of Research website brings together all papers he wrote in an e-book. These include some fascinating facts. His histories of the early days of Freemasonry in Loughborough are of great interest. These nclude a reference which shows an interesting direct family link. This link is between one member of the Craft, a previous Provincial Grand Master of Leicestershire, and H. M. Queen Elizabeth ll.
Picture: Frederick Fleeman